±Recent Visitors

Recent Visitors to Com-Central!
CFS3 still goin? :: Archived
This is for General Discussions about the CFS3 game.
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  CFS3

Topic Archived View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 6:51 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Hey Stoops!
Thx for your CFS3 install guide.
Am going to work through the video section tonight.
Big help so far though.
Thx for taking the time and making the effort to compile it.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:20 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Is there a way to turn off the ground target selection?
I wanna practice against aerial bogeys for the moment to get the hang of maneouvering; The ground target's are just interfering with me radar.

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5820
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:38 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Press the "T" key to cycle the target types shown on the tactical display - default is "all".

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 8:07 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

AH-HA!!
Cheers Stoops.
I been trying Shift + T which was just changing the range.
Demm game.
heheh

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300_Hunt
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2006
Posts: 750
Location: WA State
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2006 11:43 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

That one (Shift+T) will help as well in a close in dogfight, If you haven't done so you can also place the radar on top of your gyroscope to assist in target locations relative to your aircraft

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:59 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

..... Gyrowhatnow?


_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5820
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 5:11 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Direction-lookin' thingy. You can drag the stuff all over the place. I have all my gauge-things all stacked over each other so they're easy to locate. Can't read them unless I squint, but I know where they are.

You could theoretically map that SHIFT-T thing to a joystick button (so they say), or if you don't have a joystick or keyboard, just locate the red/white striped wire which is the SHIFT key, and short it against the magenta wire which should be the "T" key, like I do. It's the hot tip.

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
FireStorm
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 07, 2005
Posts: 49
Location: Quebec
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:58 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Saaay Whaaat?
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail
Kitform
Bar Maid

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 21, 2005
Posts: 2010
Location: Cleveland. UK.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:12 am
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Re-installed CFS3, flies like a pig (Should'ave left me cup on it)...LOL

Gotta tweak me joystick (far too sensitive)
Gotta program me joystick/game pad
Gotta get some practice
Gotta find a new coaster for me cup

Mr. Green

PS. A couple of my old squad mates (PG) are also interested in joining in if this thing takes off...excuse the pun.
Back to top
View user's profile Send e-mail Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shadow_Bshwackr
Janitor

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 20, 2005
Posts: 6941
Location: Central Illinois, USA
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:05 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

- JG300_Stoopy
just locate the red/white striped wire which is the SHIFT key, and short it against the magenta wire which should be the "T" key, like I do. It's the hot tip.


ROFL....
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
Shades
Forum Tree-Rat

Offline Offline
Joined: Mar 06, 2005
Posts: 6404
Location: 3rd Branch up, 'Ye Olde Oak', Green Wood.
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 12:45 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Erm... gonna have to play about with that I think.

I'm using no-cockpit (I like to see where I'm going).
Is there a way to adjust the opacity of the gauges (altimeter, compass, etc)?
Sometimes I lose bogeys in my instruments (enemy aircraft - in case there's any Brit's/Aussies reading this).

_________________

Com-Central's cutest, fluffiest, twitchiest, tail.
CPU > Intel i7-4790k (4.0GHz); COOLING > CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO (2x120mm);
MOBO > Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 5; RAM > 4x8Gb Corsair 'Vengeance' DDR3 1866MHz;
GPU > Gigabyte GEFORCE GTX650Ti PCI-e 3.0 2Gb GDDR5; AUDIO > Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music;
LCD > Viewsonic VA2226w (1680x1050); PSU > OCZ ModXStream Pro 700w (modular);
CASE > CoolerMaster "Storm Scout"; OS > Windows 7 Home Prem (64-bit).
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5820
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:45 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Well, what we do up here is, (seriously) is, we take the instruments and move them all down to the bottom of the screen and squeeze 'em together kinda, amd organize 'em in a sensible order. You can get them all together pretty neat so they don't take up a lot of real estate (which goes to JG300-Hunt's fine tip of overlaying the Tactical display onto the compass - both are fully readable and it makes a nice aircraft logo in the center of your TAC display too). If it weren't for Hunt's remarkable airmanship capabilities, he'd have been strung up by his thumbs for leaking such sensitive setup information outside the sty, of course.

Works fine for HUD ("no cockpit" mode). Now, if you are actually loosing bogeys IN your instruments, as you say, then you might consider just drilling some 1/4" holes (err, sorry, 6mm holes to you people on the other side of the lake) into the bottom of the instrument bezels so those critters can fall back out. We had that same problem with flies and little annoying mosquitos around the pigsty until 1Bullet brought up this good ol' Texas tip. If you're using a CRT monitor, then be sure to use a good quality drill bit with a carbide tip that can bite into the glass. If you have a LCD monitor, a wood bit - or large metal punch - will probably work.

Anyways here's a picture of the instro arrangement that Hunt is bringin' up.....the instruments can actually be moved in a little closer to touch bezels against the compass (direction thingy). Airspeed and attitude on one side, altitude and VSI on the other...it just makes good, clean sense (and you can still see your TAC display even when you are starting to black out from G's but you didn't hear that from me).....


_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."


Last edited by JG300-Stoopy on Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:11 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
IMS_Dakota
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 05, 2005
Posts: 166

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:52 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

ish.. that 38 was in the sty too long. It looks a little moldy
Back to top
View user's profile
JG300-Stoopy
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 5820
Location: Group W bench
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:55 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

Clipped wingtips for speed....yeah......just rub'em up real carefully against the corner of the control tower, or a fuel truck..... Laughing

_________________
"Once your reputation is ruined, you can live quite freely."
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
JG300-Ascout
Power User

Offline Offline
Joined: Jan 04, 2005
Posts: 6247
Location: Cyberspace
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 3:23 pm
Post subject: Re: CFS3 still goin?

- JG300-Stoopy
Clipped wingtips for speed....yeah......just rub'em up real carefully against the corner of the control tower, or a fuel truck..... Laughing


You can buy that "clipped wing for speed" explanation if'n ya' want to....or you can examine the evidence. Wink
(The gun camera was invented for a reason....)

I'm just sayin' ol' Stoop goes through right wingtips a wee bit faster that most P38 jocks...(I hear tell he's got his own bay over at the body shop)



Laughing

_________________
"All facts go to clearly prove that Shades is a thrice-cursed traitor & mentally deranged person steeped in inveterate enmity toward mankind"
Back to top
View user's profile Photo Gallery
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Revive this topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  CFS3
Page 2 of 3
All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Archive Revive
Username:
This is an archived topic - your reply will not be appended here.
Instead, a new topic will be generated in the active forum.
The new topic will provide a reference link to this archived topic.