Who has seen the SP-70 proto at Saumur in 2004?
Go to page 1, 2  Next  :| |:
-> AFV News Discussion Board

#1: Who has seen the SP-70 proto at Saumur in 2004? Author: the_shadockLocation: Normandy, France PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:37 am
    ----
Who has seen the SP-70 prototype at Saumur in 2004?

I visited the Saumur reserves buildings 2 weeks ago and it may be that I have seen the SP-70 hull. However, I didn't recognized it as an SP-70 during the visit (it looked more like an HS-30 for me, but I have no knowledge of such vehicle), and I can't remember what it looked like exactly (we visited in a hurry). We were not allowed to take any picture. That's why I need a picture of this vehicle when it was seen "outside the bossut hall" in 2004.

thanks

P-O

#2: Re: Who has seen the SP-70 proto at Saumur in 2004? Author: Neil_BaumgardnerLocation: Arlington, VA PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:31 pm
    ----
P-O,
Isnt there a picture linked in the France AFV register?

Neil

#3: Re: Who has seen the SP-70 proto at Saumur in 2004? Author: Neil_BaumgardnerLocation: Arlington, VA PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:12 pm
    ----
P-O, here's the screen capture from a 1990s video by our own Dennis Trowbridge:

video.google.co.uk/vid...p;hl=en-GB (at about the 1:48 mark)

Neil

#4: Re: Who has seen the SP-70 proto at Saumur in 2004? Author: the_shadockLocation: Normandy, France PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:35 pm
    ----
- Neil_Baumgardner
P-O,
Isnt there a picture linked in the France AFV register?

Neil

Neil,

no, that's why I am asking. I have never seen any picture of that vehicle since it is listed in the register.. anyway the big hull that I have seen in the reserves and which may be the SP-70 had no turret, I'm not even sure it was indeed the SP-70... I'll try to check this.

Note that Trevor Larkum only lists 2 existing vehicles :

http://www.preservedtanks.com/Types.aspx?TypeCategoryId=430&Select=1