Spell Check (Off Topic)
-> AFV News Discussion Board

#1: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: MarkHollowayLocation: Beatty, Nevada PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:30 pm
    ----
Find the spelling error Rolling Eyes

#2: Re: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: TanklordLocation: Louisiana PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:45 pm
    ----
I think it should be "Material" instead of "Materiel" Must have been an officer who spelled it out... Rolling Eyes oops, I was an officer Wink !

#3: Re: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: Buq-Buq PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:50 pm
    ----
Mark:

I was initially going to say that 'materiel' was misspelled, but upon looking it up:

dictionary.reference.c...e/materiel

quote:

"ma·té·ri·el [muh-teer-ee-el] Pronunciation Key –noun
the aggregate of things used or needed in any business, undertaking, or operation (distinguished from personnel).
Military. arms, ammunition, and equipment in general.
Also, ma·te·ri·el."

. . . I changed my mind.

Mark

#4: Re: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: Doug_KibbeyLocation: The Great Satan PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:51 pm
    ----
Negative...it's U.S. Army Materiel Command. I used to work for them at the Armor Board. They use the French derived spelling which is a sort of plural form. In this context, materiel is correct. Wore that patch. Wink

www.army.mil/instituti...cture/amc/

Last edited by Doug_Kibbey on Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:52 pm; edited 1 time in total

#5: Re: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: bsmartLocation: Central Maryland PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:51 pm
    ----
Well I thought I found it but after checking found I was wrong.

I thought 'Materiel' was wrong but it is correct

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Materiel

www.army.mil/instituti...cture/amc/

So I don't think there is a spelling error

#6: Re: Spell Check (Off Topic) Author: bsmartLocation: Central Maryland PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 6:34 pm
    ----